» MenĂ¼

Team Sprint

Teams of three for men and two for women, over three laps for men and two laps for women. In the qualifying heat, each team compete against the clock to qualify for the first round. The task of the starting rider is to get out of the gate cleanly and bring the team up to speed as quickly as possible. After one lap the first rider peels off to allow the next rider to make the pace. The leading rider must not swing up before a full lap is complete and must peel off between the area of 15 metres after their start line, otherwise the team will be disqualified. The quickest 8 teams in the qualifying heat go through to the first round, in which the fastest compete against the slowest. The winning teams from the first round with the two best times ride off in the finals for gold and silver. The next two fastest teams ride off for bronze and fourth place. In the event of a false start the team is permitted another start. Only two starts are allowed.

World Champions Men 2019: Netherlands
World Champions Women 2019: Australia